Page 1 of 1

Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:10 am
by izzul
Image

No choice was listed after successful UMD and concentration check teleport scroll but eats one scroll from inventory

As per picture, i use spell Mark rune at

Beregost, Nashkel, Soubar, Frost Keep entrance, BG Farmlands, Greypeak interior and none of them are saved.

the reason is maybe i RCR my character Kruger same name as the one i deleted long ago. perhaps changing name by DM might fix the problem. i also notice some other players having this problem

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scrol

Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:22 am
by Arn
The same thing happened to me. It randomly works. Try again after a reset. It's taken me a few tries before. :?

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scrol

Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2018 1:55 am
by izzul
good suggestion. i'll give it a few tries

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:34 am
by electric mayhem
Are people still having issues with this?
I just spent the better part of an hour running around the server with a Mark Rune wand building a list of teleport locations. At least 12.
Then I stop and want to try one... the menu is empty except for 1 location.

This GUI/Framework appears to share a similar framework design as the Setting Home function. I remember having non-stop grief getting the Set as Home Location to actually lock in.

Perhaps the same issue is bleeding over to the Runes locations lists?

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:45 am
by izzul
if this reset it doesnt work, you need to try next reset.

it works for me :)

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 8:52 am
by Music of Life
What usually fixes it for me is to log in using only lower case letters of my player name. I'm not sure why, but that tends to fix it 2 out of 3 times. Failing that, I have to wait for server reset.

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:53 am
by Ravial
I'll look into script of it and see if there's a problem on the spell itself, but I can make no promises that I'll instantly fix it.

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 4:05 pm
by Ravial
Nothing is wrong with any script, method invoked or otherwise any functions. Everything server-side should work perfectly. As such, the only thing that might be the problem here is your characters having invalid/corrupted kemo scry item.

If the problem persists, ask DMs to renew your kemo scry item.

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:23 pm
by Endelyon
I don't think it's an issue with broken KEMO scry since it happens to multiple people and fixes itself over the course of a reset. Quite a lot of data storage things would be failing if a scry widget became corrupt, it wouldn't just be your teleport list.

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2019 11:05 pm
by electric mayhem
So jumped in today, a reset (or more) has happened in between those times.

And yes, the Teleport list is still bugged, only 1 location in it. Expecting more than that.

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:50 am
by Glowfire
I've amassed a list of Teleport locations but not every case of Mark Rune actually works. It would be nifty if the Teleport spells only took gold after you had clicked on a destination. Using the spell and seeing the location which you 100% marked but isn't available and then still paying the cost is a bit harsh.


RCRs as far as I know (and name changes?) reset the Teleport location list.

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2019 7:40 pm
by electric mayhem
Perhaps having a 'spellbook' type of OOC item in the inventory, to anchor and manage Teleport bind points is possible? This would go a long way to helping cure some of the ongoing issues around teleport system?
A list that we can bring up at will. See, delete, rename points. The item can be set to plot (non droppable/tradeable), and will appear in a characters inventory on first use of Mark Rune / Mark Plant.
Unsure if this last part would be possible. But a character could get rid of the book item if they delete all their bind points from the book if they were to RP an attitude of "I'm done with adventuring and teleporting".


But yeh, tested it again last night. Used the actual spell from memorised slot, mark rune, to bind a location successfully. Not from a wand.
After that, I tried binding another location, that did not record at all.

I have a theory that it is only saving your First and only bind location point, during a "game session". For instance, the only 2 that my character has in their list are ones that were the First I created during a game session. Ones I tried to bind after it did not save.
Now whether it is to a "log in game session" or a complete server cycle or not. I'm not sure.
If it's the server reboot cycle, then that may explain some support as to previous comments about account name suggestions. Those in the know will understand this.

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:35 am
by electric mayhem
Did some more testing tonight. Wanted to see if there was a limit to Bind points being made during a 'game session'. Game Session = Log in to Log out. No server resets in between.

Cast Mark Rune at a location. Gave it a name.

Transitioned a few maps.
Logged out.
Logged in.
Cast Mark Rune on a completely different map. Gave it a name.
Logged Out.
Logged In.
Rested
Cast Teleport from Spellbook.

NEITHER of the two new bind points I made were in the list. All other previous ones I've made during previous server cycles were there. They were all single Mark Rune castings during a server cycle.
So it looks like the One bind point per reset theory may not have held true this time. While it has other times.
I wonder if it was because I tried to make 2 during a reset cycle.

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 11:46 am
by izzul
oh forgot to tell you. some places you cant mark rune and teleport there.

example
-greypeak(but not the interior)
-vault of the dead
-some UD area.

so you need to ensure that the place you want to mark is viable via teleporting first.

Re: Mark Rune not working. No selection using teleport scroll

Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2019 6:16 pm
by electric mayhem
thanks izzul.

Well aware of that.

these are teleportable locations.