Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Any Issues or Bugs Should Be Posted in Their Respective Categories

Moderators: Moderator, Associate Dev, Developer, Quality Control, DM

User avatar
Glowfire
Posts: 1832
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2016 9:14 am

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Glowfire » Sat May 18, 2019 12:25 pm

Theodore01 wrote:
Fri May 10, 2019 2:49 pm
Dimitrys final flare pushes friend and foe away from the caster - even thru closed doors and walls :lol:
One was even pushed thru 2 walls...........
This spell doesn't seem to be able to be scribed into a spellbook from what I gather. It says "You don't find any magic on the selected item".
Kazimir Resnik Travelling priest.
Chairman of the Golden Wheel Trading Company
Tell me stories; Tell me lies
Lonely Life - Am & Shawn Lee
Adelaide van de Saer Loving priestess.
[Hiatus/On request]

User avatar
Valefort
Lead Programmer
Posts: 8866
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:07 pm
Location: France, GMT +2

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Valefort » Fri May 24, 2019 5:04 pm

For Dimitry's final Flare, I know, but I'v yet to find anything better. It checks if there's a line of sight but it doesn't seem to work all the time, might be related to how areas were built.
Mealir Ostirel - Incorrigible swashbuckler

MrPsion
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:30 am

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by MrPsion » Fri May 31, 2019 9:35 pm

Snilloc's Snowball Swarm and Grease both have a Medium AoE in spell descriptions. When casting, Grease has the Medium AoE radius indicator that appears before casting the spell while SSS has the small AoE radius indicator. SSS is functioning as if it has a Medium AoE so this is making SSS difficult to cast without causing friendly fire. The requested fix is to make the AoE that appears in the game engine before casting be one step larger to match both the spell description and the spell script.

User avatar
chambordini
Lead Gnome
Posts: 2881
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:54 am
Location: Songfarla

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by chambordini » Sat Jun 01, 2019 12:15 am

MrPsion wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 9:35 pm
Snilloc's Snowball Swarm and Grease both have a Medium AoE in spell descriptions. When casting, Grease has the Medium AoE radius indicator that appears before casting the spell while SSS has the small AoE radius indicator. SSS is functioning as if it has a Medium AoE so this is making SSS difficult to cast without causing friendly fire. The requested fix is to make the AoE that appears in the game engine before casting be one step larger to match both the spell description and the spell script.
Done.

User avatar
Pan-some
Recognized Donor
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:42 am

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Pan-some » Tue Jun 04, 2019 3:04 am

Seem Like Divine Power last 1 round even extended...??

User avatar
Pan-some
Recognized Donor
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:42 am

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Pan-some » Tue Jun 04, 2019 3:16 am

Okay seems to be working now...sorry

User avatar
Theodore01
Recognized Donor
Posts: 2119
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 5:32 pm

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Theodore01 » Tue Jun 04, 2019 6:50 am

Pan-some wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 3:04 am
Seem Like Divine Power last 1 round even extended...??
Had the same short duration on my first cast :o
Successive castings had the correct duration.

User avatar
Pan-some
Recognized Donor
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 4:42 am

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Pan-some » Tue Jun 04, 2019 8:03 pm

Yep as soon as you hit in a round its gone ..I casted it 3 times in a row...as long as you dont hit anything its up...can someone check this out...plz

User avatar
DiceyCZ
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:18 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by DiceyCZ » Fri Jul 05, 2019 7:56 am

Hi, so after this round of RCR I bumped again into the problem with scribing scrolls. UNder the impression that all ingame spells are now scribable and not having gold to scribe all my spells I just picked the ones that make up Niyressa's regular spellbook and now there are a couple spells I can't get back :(

Dimitry's Final Flare - creates scroll but the scroll can't "cast" the spell so can't be learned from it
Supress Wards - doesn't even scribe a scroll
Teleportation Circle - scribes a scroll but again no casting attached

Any chance these could be fixed please? I realize that supress wards and teleportation circle are purely RP right now, but both kinda important for RP in the continuing war right now. I would be really grateful if those could be "learnable". Thanks!
Niyressa Dawncrow - Northern Wartch and Bladestone Foundation Administrator
"Magic is Chaos, Art, and Science. It is a curse, a blessing, and progress. It all depends on who uses magic, how they use it, and to what purpose. And magic is everywhere. All around us.” - Yennefer

Stanley The Male
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:55 am

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Stanley The Male » Sat Jul 13, 2019 1:29 am

Hi there,

This thread is enormous and I couldn't scour through it all to find if this bug was already reported, please ignore if it has been.

Regarding Mastery of Elements, Archmage mechanic, the element resets to it's original element, in the example provided, from acid to fire (flame arrows original element) without toggling. The spell has no metamagic on it. Normally, you need to untoggle the mechanic (I have all options on hotbar). This has happened many times. Is it a feature or a bug?

See below:

Image
Currently playng:

Naryl Yviran - Sun Elf mageling.

User avatar
Agog_Fr
Quality Control
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Angbaal the Necromancer

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Agog_Fr » Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:24 am

My main character is Morkar.

He is red wizard of thay.

My problem is that I have picked my Restriched magic School, BUT I still have the Feat "Select Restricted School" available.

If I use it, it will select for me a SECOND restricted school. Something I don't really want. ^^


So let me do the history of the bug :

- For unknown reasons, I could not pick the red wizard of thay level at level 6.
- So I picked a level of another class (And I did not picked spells of my Restriced School at level up).
- I realised that the Qualitifation feat for Red Wizard (and Thayan Knight) was unavaiable.
- I asked kindly a DM to add me the Feat.
- He assed me the feat. I started take one level of Red Wizard of Thay. I picked my restriced magic school, via the "Select Restriced School" feat newly available.
- Next level, I increased my level in another class. AND the "Select Restriced School" feat appeared !


I tried to use spells of my restriced school. They works. So, it seems I don't have any real problem for now, despite this feat bug. :)
Play Angbaal the Necromancer.
Video presentation of my Guild : Link.

User avatar
DaloLorn
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2019 2:44 am

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by DaloLorn » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:04 am

Agog_Fr wrote:
Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:24 am
- For unknown reasons, I could not pick the red wizard of thay level at level 6.
- So I picked a level of another class (And I did not picked spells of my Restriced School at level up).
- I realised that the Qualitifation feat for Red Wizard (and Thayan Knight) was unavaiable.
- I asked kindly a DM to add me the Feat.
- He assed me the feat. I started take one level of Red Wizard of Thay. I picked my restriced magic school, via the "Select Restriced School" feat newly available.
Little bit of nitpicking:

I already explained why you were missing the qualification feat. As a human wizard, you get four feat choices by level 5. You need to use three of those feats for the RW prerequisites. You did not do so (instead, you took Able Learner and Spellcasting Prodigy), so you were not able to become a Red Wizard at the level you were supposed to.

AFAIK, the scripts responsible for the qualification feat check if you're a specialized, non-good, level 5 human wizard. You failed to have the qualifications and the other prerequisites at the same time, so you ran into the issue you had. It's really not that mysterious.
European player, GMT+1 (+2 during DST). Active in Discord.
Notable characters:
  • Shali Menner
  • Mard Fettian
  • Cald Hanicen
  • Vichan Sterr
  • Ilhara Evrine
  • Kana Tannard

User avatar
Agog_Fr
Quality Control
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Angbaal the Necromancer

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Agog_Fr » Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:43 am

Yes I think you have right.

But I had not calculate that I should have not taken Able Learner, to be able to start the class at level 6.

Maybe it would clearer to write it in the wiki that player have to take those 3 feats in his build as fast as he can : https://wiki.bgtscc.net/index.php?title ... rd_of_Thay
Play Angbaal the Necromancer.
Video presentation of my Guild : Link.

User avatar
Agog_Fr
Quality Control
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 8:03 am
Location: Angbaal the Necromancer

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Agog_Fr » Tue Jul 30, 2019 5:26 pm

Image

Dudes, the worst happenned for my poor PC : I got two restriched schools now.

So in total I got one prohited School (Divination), and TWO restriched school (Enchantement and Illusion).

And I never picked Illusion. The game imposed me this choice when I reconnected, after have my level 11.

And if you look at the screenshot, you will see that the "Select Restriched School is STILL HERE" which means that at my next level, a new restriched school forced choice will occurs.

If nothing is done, my Red Wizard PC will only be able to cast Necromantic spells. ^^



Unless someone can solve the problem radically, I think the easisier solution would be a simple RCC.

But the problem is for me that I already have a 103 spells known. I invested a lot of time and gold to buy those spells, and RP with another mage to learn his own spells !

I will be wronged by this bug if I had a pure RCC ! :evil:
Play Angbaal the Necromancer.
Video presentation of my Guild : Link.

User avatar
Theodore01
Recognized Donor
Posts: 2119
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 5:32 pm

Re: Spell / Scroll / Feat Bugs

Unread post by Theodore01 » Wed Jul 31, 2019 3:00 am

DaloLorn wrote:
Tue Jul 30, 2019 10:04 am
Agog_Fr wrote:
Tue Jul 30, 2019 8:24 am
- For unknown reasons, I could not pick the red wizard of thay level at level 6.
- So I picked a level of another class (And I did not picked spells of my Restriced School at level up).
- I realised that the Qualitifation feat for Red Wizard (and Thayan Knight) was unavaiable.
- I asked kindly a DM to add me the Feat.
- He assed me the feat. I started take one level of Red Wizard of Thay. I picked my restriced magic school, via the "Select Restriced School" feat newly available.
Little bit of nitpicking:

I already explained why you were missing the qualification feat. As a human wizard, you get four feat choices by level 5. You need to use three of those feats for the RW prerequisites. You did not do so (instead, you took Able Learner and Spellcasting Prodigy), so you were not able to become a Red Wizard at the level you were supposed to.

AFAIK, the scripts responsible for the qualification feat check if you're a specialized, non-good, level 5 human wizard. You failed to have the qualifications and the other prerequisites at the same time, so you ran into the issue you had. It's really not that mysterious.
As your PC is illegal, you have to RCR anyway. Do it better sooner than later, before you waste more time and gold on him.

Post Reply