BGTSCC Discord BGTSCC IRC

Server Address: game.bgtscc.net
23/96
Last counter update:
2018-09-20 07:24:24



All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 12:39 pm 
Offline
Quality Control

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:55 pm
Posts: 8044
Hey Snarfy, in general it will deactivate which was one of the concerns. This is due to an exploit that occurred when it was left on. However, if you are wearing gloves you can still activate EW again without a weapon equipped (or that is how I understand it to work). Switching weapons in general does not play nice with the script and thus it's advisable to reactivate after switching weapons or going to gloves.

_________________
Chord Silverstrings - Bard and OSR Squire / Tarent Nefzen - Arcane Wand Merchant and Master Alchemist / Irrace Arkentlar - Drow Adventurer / Finneaus Du'Veil - Gem Merchant and Executive Officer of SCCE

Tarent's Wands and Elixirs

A Wand Crafter's guide to using wands


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 6:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:52 am
Posts: 331
chad878262 wrote:
Hey Snarfy, in general it will deactivate which was one of the concerns. This is due to an exploit that occurred when it was left on. However, if you are wearing gloves you can still activate EW again without a weapon equipped (or that is how I understand it to work). Switching weapons in general does not play nice with the script and thus it's advisable to reactivate after switching weapons or going to gloves.


Hey Chad, you guys are still continuing to work on a solution, right? The feat as it stands is problematic and I am sure there is a solution. I forget now why the feat can not be made passive? Is it because of ranged attacks also picking up this feat?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 8:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:18 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Czech Republic
Bad Omens wrote:
chad878262 wrote:
Hey Snarfy, in general it will deactivate which was one of the concerns. This is due to an exploit that occurred when it was left on. However, if you are wearing gloves you can still activate EW again without a weapon equipped (or that is how I understand it to work). Switching weapons in general does not play nice with the script and thus it's advisable to reactivate after switching weapons or going to gloves.


Hey Chad, you guys are still continuing to work on a solution, right? The feat as it stands is problematic and I am sure there is a solution. I forget now why the feat can not be made passive? Is it because of ranged attacks also picking up this feat?


Just a thought but...is there a way to utilize the same basis as script for "Hideous Blow"? It's a toggle, works on hit, but works fine with switching weapons, while not working on ranged, if I remember right, though I am not sure how the effect itself is implemented, spell effects were easier to call from what I remember from my NWN1 scripting days.

_________________
"Magic is Chaos, Art, and Science. It is a curse, a blessing, and progress. It all depends on who uses magic, how they use it, and to what purpose. And magic is everywhere. All around us.” - Yennefer

Niyressa Dawncrow - Transmutations professor and Representative: Lockhart Academy


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 1:00 pm 
Offline
Quality Control

Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2014 6:55 pm
Posts: 8044
DiceyCZ wrote:
Bad Omens wrote:
chad878262 wrote:
Hey Snarfy, in general it will deactivate which was one of the concerns. This is due to an exploit that occurred when it was left on. However, if you are wearing gloves you can still activate EW again without a weapon equipped (or that is how I understand it to work). Switching weapons in general does not play nice with the script and thus it's advisable to reactivate after switching weapons or going to gloves.


Hey Chad, you guys are still continuing to work on a solution, right? The feat as it stands is problematic and I am sure there is a solution. I forget now why the feat can not be made passive? Is it because of ranged attacks also picking up this feat?


Just a thought but...is there a way to utilize the same basis as script for "Hideous Blow"? It's a toggle, works on hit, but works fine with switching weapons, while not working on ranged, if I remember right, though I am not sure how the effect itself is implemented, spell effects were easier to call from what I remember from my NWN1 scripting days.


I have forwarded on to Valefort to see if he can take a look at your suggested solution. I am not a developer, scripter or someone who knows enough about either to say if your suggestion will work or not. It could be that it is easier to apply an on-hit xd6 damage property than it is to apply on-hit, stacking AC Debuff and bleed damage. Or it might be exactly the same! No idea, but give Vale some time to consider it and see if it's something that helps come up with a better implementation.

_________________
Chord Silverstrings - Bard and OSR Squire / Tarent Nefzen - Arcane Wand Merchant and Master Alchemist / Irrace Arkentlar - Drow Adventurer / Finneaus Du'Veil - Gem Merchant and Executive Officer of SCCE

Tarent's Wands and Elixirs

A Wand Crafter's guide to using wands


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 1:53 pm 
Offline
Lead Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:07 pm
Posts: 8271
Location: France, GMT +2
You're not supposed to be able to use expose weakness while shapechanged/polymorphed, that won't change.

As for the deactivation nothing more is in the works, there are already a bunch of very ugly things added in order for it to be reactivated automatically often, I don't know how you manage to deactivate it.

And no, hideous blow can't be used.

_________________
Mealir Ostirel - Incorrigible swashbuckler


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 2:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:52 am
Posts: 331
Valefort wrote:
You're not supposed to be able to use expose weakness while shapechanged/polymorphed, that won't change.

As for the deactivation nothing more is in the works, there are already a bunch of very ugly things added in order for it to be reactivated automatically often, I don't know how you manage to deactivate it.

And no, hideous blow can't be used.


So, it can not be made a passive feat Vale? I think I remember the argument against this, was that people might not want to use EW all the time because of RP, but to be honest with you Vale, if you run a survey, I am pretty sure that you will get at least a 2/3 - 3/4 majority voting to make the feat passive.

Would you be willing to create a poll for that?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 3:36 pm 
Offline
Lead Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:07 pm
Posts: 8271
Location: France, GMT +2
It's one of the reasons it's a toggle and poll or not I'm not changing this because there are other features that work the same way that are involved.

It would not solve your problem anyway, even if it was automatically on at first you would still have the same deactivation issues that you somehow face. Gather details on when it's deactivating so that i can reproduce it is again the only answer I can write, I hope you realize i'm totally unable to deactivate it unless i'm toggling it off.

_________________
Mealir Ostirel - Incorrigible swashbuckler


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 3:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:18 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Czech Republic
Valefort wrote:
You're not supposed to be able to use expose weakness while shapechanged/polymorphed, that won't change.


Alright, that is good to know information. Unless I have missed it somewhere I never saw anyone say that this and the other custom combat modes (togglables) are intentionally not usable by polymorphs and not just something to tune. Thanks.

_________________
"Magic is Chaos, Art, and Science. It is a curse, a blessing, and progress. It all depends on who uses magic, how they use it, and to what purpose. And magic is everywhere. All around us.” - Yennefer

Niyressa Dawncrow - Transmutations professor and Representative: Lockhart Academy


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 4:16 pm 
Offline
Recognized Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 5:42 am
Posts: 4790
Location: Paradise in GMT +1
viewtopic.php?f=446&t=64549

_________________
Storybuilding.

|> Simsae Orcslayer — Stonesinger: Song of Thunder
|> Hurgon WyrmstoneKraak Helzak Ambassador & Voice of the Deep Mountain
|> Preceptor Phasorin ZauPurification through Fire
|> Henryk Urdde — Sword of Justice



Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 4:23 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:18 pm
Posts: 231
Location: Czech Republic
Right, thanks...I gotta work on my research :?

_________________
"Magic is Chaos, Art, and Science. It is a curse, a blessing, and progress. It all depends on who uses magic, how they use it, and to what purpose. And magic is everywhere. All around us.” - Yennefer

Niyressa Dawncrow - Transmutations professor and Representative: Lockhart Academy


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 4:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:52 am
Posts: 331
Valefort wrote:
It's one of the reasons it's a toggle and poll or not I'm not changing this because there are other features that work the same way that are involved.

It would not solve your problem anyway, even if it was automatically on at first you would still have the same deactivation issues that you somehow face. Gather details on when it's deactivating so that i can reproduce it is again the only answer I can write, I hope you realize i'm totally unable to deactivate it unless i'm toggling it off.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 6:03 pm 
Offline
Lead Programmer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:07 pm
Posts: 8271
Location: France, GMT +2
Yes ?

_________________
Mealir Ostirel - Incorrigible swashbuckler


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Expose Weakness Toggle Issues
Unread postPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 6:56 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2013 7:52 am
Posts: 331
Valefort wrote:
Yes ?


Lol, sorry, interruption in service.

It has to do with switching weapons Vale, especially melee to ranged. So, you know that melee/ranged mixed high dex, low damage builds are especially effected.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DM Unicorn and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group