Chionthar Ruins Transition Corrupted

For Issues, Ideas, or Subjects That Do Not Fit Elsewhere

Moderators: Moderator, DM

Post Reply
User avatar
DM Bloodvine
Associate DM
Posts: 298
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2020 6:39 am

Chionthar Ruins Transition Corrupted

Unread post by DM Bloodvine »

As of the 16/05/2020 Server Update
I'm dropping this here in this forum to increase the likelihood people see it.

I'm going to suggest people not to take any transitions in the Chionthar ruins. There is a strong chance of you crashing and not being able to log in until the next reset.

User avatar
LazyTrain
Lead Builder
Posts: 404
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: Chionthar Ruins Transition Corrupted

Unread post by LazyTrain »

Looking into it now!
Sink Baldur's Gate.

Generally what I say is just my opinion and does not reflect the staff,

Unless it's purple, then it's my official statement as a Dev.

darwin.evenwood
Posts: 226
Joined: Fri Apr 05, 2013 9:26 pm

Re: Chionthar Ruins Transition Corrupted

Unread post by darwin.evenwood »

Don't know if it's the same issue but probably yes:
I think the whole area is corrupted because i tried to enter the house in the east of wyrm's crossing area and now i am unable to log in that character.

User avatar
LazyTrain
Lead Builder
Posts: 404
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: Chionthar Ruins Transition Corrupted

Unread post by LazyTrain »

darwin.evenwood wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 7:05 pm
Don't know if it's the same issue but probably yes:
I think the whole area is corrupted because i tried to enter the house in the east of wyrm's crossing area and now i am unable to log in that character.
I'd advise nobody go into it for now. We've moved things away from all the transitions and hopefully it'll fix it next time we update. I honestly have no idea what would be causing the issues, but if this doesn't work I'll remake the area from scratch.
Sink Baldur's Gate.

Generally what I say is just my opinion and does not reflect the staff,

Unless it's purple, then it's my official statement as a Dev.

zhazz
Posts: 99
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2020 7:12 am

Re: Chionthar Ruins Transition Corrupted

Unread post by zhazz »

LazyTrain wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 7:29 pm
darwin.evenwood wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 7:05 pm
Don't know if it's the same issue but probably yes:
I think the whole area is corrupted because i tried to enter the house in the east of wyrm's crossing area and now i am unable to log in that character.
I'd advise nobody go into it for now. We've moved things away from all the transitions and hopefully it'll fix it next time we update. I honestly have no idea what would be causing the issues, but if this doesn't work I'll remake the area from scratch.
What is the ETA on a fix for this?
always leave a lootbag near the bad transition to warn other players, whenever I go to the Chiontar East Ruins, but do not go there every reset.

Perhaps a quick solution, until the cause is found, would be to have the house transition connect directly to the transition in the ruins?

Also, as a side-note:
Would it be possible to have in-game announcements that are read from the database?
That way any staff-member can enter an announcement (through an admin page on the forums?) when an issue is found, and have that display whenever someone logs in.
Adrian Baker - An innocent virtuoso (bio | journal)
Cane D'astaro - In service to the Red Knight

User avatar
LazyTrain
Lead Builder
Posts: 404
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 3:25 pm

Re: Chionthar Ruins Transition Corrupted

Unread post by LazyTrain »

zhazz wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 8:30 pm
LazyTrain wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 7:29 pm
darwin.evenwood wrote:
Sun May 17, 2020 7:05 pm
Don't know if it's the same issue but probably yes:
I think the whole area is corrupted because i tried to enter the house in the east of wyrm's crossing area and now i am unable to log in that character.
I'd advise nobody go into it for now. We've moved things away from all the transitions and hopefully it'll fix it next time we update. I honestly have no idea what would be causing the issues, but if this doesn't work I'll remake the area from scratch.
What is the ETA on a fix for this?
always leave a lootbag near the bad transition to warn other players, whenever I go to the Chiontar East Ruins, but do not go there every reset.

Perhaps a quick solution, until the cause is found, would be to have the house transition connect directly to the transition in the ruins?

Also, as a side-note:
Would it be possible to have in-game announcements that are read from the database?
That way any staff-member can enter an announcement (through an admin page on the forums?) when an issue is found, and have that display whenever someone logs in.
Next update, no accurate ETA.

As for the announcements, good idea but not 100% sure.
Sink Baldur's Gate.

Generally what I say is just my opinion and does not reflect the staff,

Unless it's purple, then it's my official statement as a Dev.

Post Reply